Stellar Physics and Evolution, Nucleosynthesis, Supernovae, Hydrodynamics


General field: structure and evolution of single and binary stars, nucleosynthesis, stellar winds, binary mass transfer and accretion, formation and evolution of circumstellar and circumbinary nebulae, formation of white dwarfs, neutron stars, black holes, supernovae and gamma-ray bursts.

Hot open questions: What are the effects of rotation on stellar evolution, nucleosynthesis, and circumstellar nebulae? Which binary systems can produce black holes, which gamma-ray bursts? What are the progenitors of Type Ia Supernovae? Which stars synthesise the r-process elements? Which processes can drive mass out of binary systems? What shapes circumstellar nebulae and supernova remnants?

Another hot question...

Possible research project and thesis work: Research work in our group is mostly theoretical and fundamental, but always strongly linked to observations. We work at the forefront of research and to produce new, relevant publishable results which will be interesting to the larger community of astrophysicists. Small Research Projects and work leading to a Master Thesis can be started any time, PhD work on request.

Senior staff:

Norbert Langer, Thomas Tauris

Group members:

Alina Istrate, Norberto Castro, Nicolas Gonzalez Jimenez, Luca Grassitelli, Nathan Grin, Matthias Kruckow, Pablo Marchant, Takashi Moriya, Patrick Neunteufel, Jean-Claude Passy, Martin Quast, Debashis Sanyal, Abel Schootemeijer, Dorottya Szecsi, Thomas Tauris

Former members:

John Braithwaite, Hartmut Braun, Ines Brott, Matteo Cantiello, Sabina Chita, Thibaut Decressin, Tyl Dermine, Luc Dessart, Andreas Deutschmann, Alexandra Dierks, Vincent Duez, Jens Fliegner, Luca Fossati, Alexander Heger, Falk Herwig, Robert Izzard, Herbert Lau, Karen Koehler, Jonathan Mackey, Allard-Jan van Marle, Selma de Mink, Joseph Mitchell, Shazrene Mohamend, Enrice Moreno-Menez, Hilding Neilson, Ilka Petermann, Jerome Petri, Jelena Petrovic, Arend Jan Poelarends, Silvia Scheithauer, Bob van Veelen, Stephan Wellstein, Sung-Chul Yoon

see also here and here